apa logo

Arizona Pilots Association Scholarship Program

The APA awards scholarships each year to deserving Arizona high school and college students. With these scholarships we hope to further the education of individuals who intend to work in the field of aviation as a pilot, aircraft maintenance technician or other related field. Applicants should maintain a scholastic position in the upper half of their class, demonstrate leadership qualities, moral character, and concern for others through community service. Applicants must certify their intent to use the scholarship funds toward education in the field of aviation through participation in an aviation-related field in college, flight training or another related educational program.

The enduring goals of APA's scholarship program are:

  • To assist young men and women from Arizona in achieving a vocational or post-secondary education. APA awards annual scholarships to help fill the unmet financial need of students pursuing aviation-related education opportunities at accredited colleges, universities, and technical institutions.
  • To promote a wider and deeper respect for learning in general aviation and for exceptionally talented individuals in particular
  • To shine a spotlight on deserving students and encourage the pursuit of academic excellence at all levels of education

Scholarship Committee:

Andrew Vogeney
Rick Bosshardt

Chris Nugent


If you are interested in applying for a scholarship, please carefully review the requirements and submit the application and required documents. Use the cover letter to tell us anything else you would like us to know about you and your aviation related goals.

Required Documents Checklist:

  • Completed online application (see application link below)
  • Copy of current school transcript and/or resume
  • Cover letter indicating your interest in the scholarship and any other information you would like us to know (one page maximum)
  • Professional recommendation letter(s) from employers, teachers, etc. (required)
Applications Deadline: Completed applications are due no later than October 31 each year.

Important Notes:

  • Google Account Required – the online application uses the Google Forms tool and requires you to have a Google email account to access the application. If you do not already have a Google account, you can sign up for free at google.com. You will need to log in to your Google account to access and submit the application from the APA website.
  • Required Documents - the transcript, cover letter and recommendation letter(s) are uploaded to the online application as separate Word or pdf documents.

Scholarship Application Link
: https://forms.gle/L1FWmWrVcyW3G3mF7

If you have trouble completing the application or uploading required documents, please contact APA at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. so that we can resolve any issues expeditiously.



The APA is an Arizona nonprofit corporation organized as described in the Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3). Donations to the scholarship fund are tax deductible. The APA is an all-volunteer organization and every dollar invested goes directly to this work.

If you would like to contribute online, please see our scholarship donation page.



You can also mail a check to the address below and please write "Scholarship Fund" in the check's memo.

Arizona Pilots Association
PO Box 61242
Phoenix, AZ 85082-1242

CHAIRMAN’S CLUB – Contributions totaling $1,000 or more

PRESIDENT’S CLUB - Contributions totaling $500 to $999

DIRECTOR’S CLUB - Contributions totaling $400 to $499

OFFICER’S CLUB - Contributions totaling $300 to $399

EDUCATOR’S CLUB - Contributions totaling $200 to $299

AVIATOR’S CLUB - Contributions totaling $100 to $199

SCHOLARSHIP CLUB - Contributions totaling $20 to $99



Scholarships Awarded




Xitlali Vazquez

ALynn Burnett

Cintia Cantor Navas

Evan Erickson

Richard Browning

Aevyn Peirce

Jeremy Lee

Aneka Raaman

Nick Vatis

Tavian Schnack

Jeffre Antoff

Benjamin O’Hara-Hawort

Jason Oetken



scholarships 2021 michelle imondi scholarships 2021 kaylah yazzie

scholarships 2021 blake tusynskischolarships 2021 matie mitchellscholarships 2021 tristan smith

scholarships 2021 mark nowakscholarships 2021 alyssa bodwinscholarships 2021 justin oreilly



Mattie Mitchell

Alyssa Bodwin

Tristan Smith

Michelle Imondi

Kaylah Yazzie

Justin O’Reilly

Blake Tusynski

Mark Nowak



scholarships 2020 jeremiah walkerscholarships 2020 sabrina bailey

scholarships 2020 chelsea montgomeryscholarships 2020 elijah olverascholarships 2020 alyssa bodwin

scholarships 2020 rachel santanascholarships 2020 frederic hewett



Chelsea Montgomery

Rachael Santana

Jeremiah Walker

Sage Nelson

Frederic Hewett

Alyssa Bodwin

Elijah Olvera

Sabrina Bailey



2019 johnson victoria2019 diaz maria

2019 alberti ben2019 swift michael2019 ohara tim2019 nelson sage

2019 nebrig james2019 sorensen tristan



Victoria Johnson

Maria Diaz

Ben Alberti

Michael Swift

Tim O'Hara

Sage Nelson

James Nebrig

Tristan Sorensen


 2018 19 apa scholarship winners


The Scholarship Program recipients were:
~ Matthew - Will be graduating shortly and then attending flight school for his commercial rating
~ Devon – Has a private license and is also going for his commercial rating
~ Austin – After receiving his Bachelor’s, will be going into the Air Force
~ Colby – Will be attending school to become an AMP
~ Michael – Will also be attending school to become an AMP
~ Theresa – Is an APA volunteer and has applied to the American Airlines Cadet Program




(APA Gives $6,000 in Scholarships in 2017, read the full article here...)

Kayla Phillips

Avree Anderson

Josiah Plant



2016-05 scholarship-winners650



Dylan Hicks

Avery Nelson

Baby Kaithe Tampos

(Avery Nelson wasn’t able to be present when the scholarship checks were presented,
but he was proudly represented by his father.)



2015-07 scholarship winners650


Tyler Myers - Perry HS in Gilbert

Travis Bodine - Corona Del Sol HS in Tempe

Dylan Kuchan - Mountain View HS in Mesa


2014-07 scholarship winners


Ephinee Zaragoza - Mountain Pointe High School

Jonathon Higgins - Desert Ridge High School





Tyler Dears - Mountain Pointe High School

Eric White - Highland High School



To assist young men and women from Arizona in achieving a vocational or post-secondary education school education. APA awards annual scholarships to help fill the unmet financial need of students pursuing aviation-related education opportunities at accredited colleges, universities, and technical institutions.